RC65 is in honor of Rama's 65th birthday and his academic contributions. Over his academic career, Rama has trained and collabored with many generations of researchers in computer vision, image and signal processing, machine learning, and biometrics. The technical workshop is a once-in-a-lifetime event that brings together many of his mentors, collaborators, and students to celebrate and toast Rama.

Prof. Rama Chellappa is a Distinguished University Professor, a Minta Martin Professor in Engineering and Chair of the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at the University of Maryland, College Park, MD.

He received the B.E. (Hons.) degree in Electronics and Communication Engineering from the University of Madras, India and the M.E. (with Distinction) degree from the Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, India. He received the M.S.E.E. and Ph.D. Degrees in Electrical Engineering from Purdue University, West Lafayette, IN. At UMD, he is an affiliate Professor of Computer Science Department, Applied Mathematics and Scientific Computing Program, member of the Center for Automation Research and a Permanent Member of the Institute for Advanced Computer Studies. His current research interests span many areas in image processing, computer vision and machine learning.

Prof. Chellappa is a recipient of an NSF Presidential Young Investigator Award and four IBM Faculty Development Awards. He received two paper awards and the K.S. Fu Prize from the International Association of Pattern Recognition (IAPR). He is a recipient of the Society, Technical Achievement and Meritorious Service Awards from the IEEE Signal Processing Society. He also received the Technical Achievement and Meritorious Service Awards from the IEEE Computer Society. Recently, he received the inaugural Leadership Award from the IEEE Biometrics Council. At UMD, he has received numerous college and university level recognitions for research, teaching, innovation and mentoring of undergraduate students. In 2010, he was recognized as an Outstanding ECE by Purdue University. He received the Distinguished Alumni Award from the Indian Institute of Science in 2016.

Prof. Chellappa served as the EIC of IEEE Transactions on Pattern Analysis and Machine Intelligence, as the Co-EIC of Graphical Models and Image Processing, as the Associate Editor of four IEEE Transactions, as a Co-Guest Editor of many special issues, and is currently on the Editorial Board of SIAM Jl. of Imaging Science and Image and Vision Computing. He has also served as the General and Technical Program Chair/Co-Chair for several IEEE international and national conferences and workshops. He is a Golden Core Member of the IEEE Computer Society, served as a Distinguished Lecturer of the IEEE Signal Processing Society and as the President of IEEE Biometrics Council. He is a Fellow of IEEE, IAPR, OSA, AAAS, ACM, and AAAI and holds six patents.


Edward St. John Learning and Teaching Center, Room 0224,
University of Maryland, College Park campus
Address: Campus Dr, College Park, MD 20740


Sunday, June 03
6.30-9.30pm Reception at the The Hotel at University of Maryland
Monday, June 04
St. Edward Learning Center
8:00am Registration and Continental Breakfast
8:50am B. S. Manjunath, Introduction and Welcome Remarks
9:00 - 9.20am Session 1 (5 min per talk)
Joseph JaJa, UMD
Ming Lin, Chair of CS, UMD
Mihai Pop, Director of UMIACS, UMD
Amitabh Varshney, Dean of CMNS, UMD
9:20 - 10.35am Session 2 (15 min per talk)
Al Bovik, UT Austin
Shih-Fu Chang, Columbia
Larry Davis, UMD
Rene Vidal, JHU
Song-Chun Zhu, UCLA
10.35 - 11:00am Coffee Break
11:00 - 12:00pm Session 3 (15 min per talk)
Venu Govindaraju, Univ of Buffalo
Gang Hua, MSR
Ray Liu, UMD
Anuj Srivastava, FSU
12:00 - 1:15pm Lunch
Afternoon Session
1:15 - 2:30pm Session 4 (15 min per talk)
Hamid Krim, NC State
Jonathon Phillips, NIST
Nalini Ratha, IBM
Badri Roysam, Univ. of Houston
Mubarak Shah, UCF
2.30 - 3:00pm Coffee Break
3:00 - 4:30pm Session 5 (15 min per talk)
Behtash Babadi, UMD
Ramani Duraiswami, UMD
Mel Gomez, UMD
David Jacobs, UMD
Dinesh Manocha, UMD
Min Wu, UMD
4.30 - 4:45pm Remarks by Rama Chellappa
4.45 - 5:00pm Vote of Thanks by Ashok Veeraraghavan, Rice